Tags

,

I believe that people come into our lives for a reason, they could be there for a short time, or for much longer.  Their purpose and effect on your life may not be apparent at that immediate juncture.  Sometimes it can be years until we realize why and just how deeply that person effected us.  It can be a positive type of scaring, one that you look down at and smile in memory, instead of cringing with the though.

“To everything there is a season, to everything there is a time.  For every purpose under heaven, there is a time a proper time.” – Ecclesiastes 3:3, arranged by John Rutter (and yes, I have to cite it to my favorite choral composer)

I realized this week as to part of the purpose of a person who came into my life for what I consider to be a way too short amount of time.  It’s one of those things I don’t want to spend too much time thinking about because then I fear the “over-thunk” process.  But on the other hand it’s almost a case of the scales falling off my eyes, I am the classic avoider, I don’t want to deal with it at this time so I won’t.  Needless to say values have been given back a system in which I didn’t realize still existed.

I have to wonder if I can fully appreciate my opportunities at hand, if I’ve learned from the past.  Sometimes you gotta sit back on your heels and wonder if the universe is testing you.  And as to which of the many lessons it’s time to learn from.

Some people will come into your life for a season, their impact may be strong enough for you to be fooled into thinking you could have them in your life for a lifetime.  Other people will come into your life for a lifetime, and you will see their footprint manifest in many ways along the path.