Tags

, , ,

My girls had just done a “mini-photo” session in our living room / studio,  just for fun and for Megan to show off more of her dress-up clothes collection.  It was now bedtime and Megan and I were having our nightly chats with prayers before tucking her in bed. 

Megan has a very long list of thing she wants to be when she grows up.  A new thing gets added at least once a week.  So far we have:  Princess, Mommy, Artist, Model, Hannah Montana, Teacher, Ballerina, Gymnast, Nurse, Magician, Bride, Florist, just to name a few.

“Mommy, when I grow up I want to be a kid model and not an adult model.”

“Ok… why’s that?”

“Because adult models don’t color.”

Then it hit me… we hadn’t sat down and colored together for a few days.  We had played dolls and dress up, but we hadn’t colored together.  I had to supress the urge of going and grabbing her coloring books and crayons right then.  Sometimes it really stinks to be a grown up.

“Well Meggie, what makes you say that?”

“Because”

“Because why?”

“Because I wish we had colored more.”

I hated having to explain to her that clean clothes don’t magically appear in her closet, that food dosen’t cook itself, that her carpet didn’t stay magically clean.  I hugged her close and talked about how much she enjoys being able to come home after school on Mommy days and not having to take a nap at school every day.  How much I appreciate all of her help with her little sister. 

“You can do anything you want when  you grow up, if you want to be an artist you can.  If you want to be a model you can.  If you want to be a singer you can.”

“What about a Princess?”

“You are our Princess!”

“I need another tiara Mommy.”

I hated explaining that sometimes (more often than not lately) Mommy has been sick and not able to do as much as normal.  Before my eyes my toddler has grown into a tall little girl.  She makes her own bed and loves to color pictures for all of her people.  She understands that Mommy works when she can and that sometimes also means she gets to play in front of the camera too.  Her maturity when it comes to Michelle is amazing, she loves to talk to her and hear stories about when she was a baby.

“How about I make some extra special time for us to color together tomorrow?”

“Sure! So we can both be models and color!”

“Anything you want Princess Megan.”

_MG_8604_smalls

