Tags

, , ,

Once again I stumble across the “professional” stone.  This has got to be one of my biggest pet peeves, someone who claims to be a professional but clearly isn’t.  It gives those that have put in the education, training and time into said profession a bad image when someone who isn’t markets themselves as if they are.

It’s something I’ve chewed over with one of my closest model friends about some so called models we know.  True both she and I have varied backgrounds in the industry, but both of us have put in the time, training and development to be considered and are paid professionals.

It’s something I’ve run across often with photographers, and that Bill and I have discussed at length.  Sorry but how can someone claim to be a professional photographer when they cannot complete all the steps?  The bookings, the marketings, the shoot, the direction, the concept, the editing and final presentation.  Sure many professional photographers have assistants and such, but when push comes to shove they can do their jobs from start to finish.

Another thing that has irked me lately along the lines of “professional” is the lack of professional character.  There are certain curtseys that should be followed in any profession, especially when you are working closely with those who have helped you along.  There are certain codes of behavior that you learn and that should be common sense of just consideration for collegues.

I’m stepping off my soapbox for now.

