Tags

, , , ,

Yes.  In more ways than one.

We all have done it.  And we suck for it.  Everytime it happens we berrate ourselves for having done it to others in our lifetime, sit back and try to be understanding.

Seriously.  Women suck.  When we get a new love interest we toss our girlfriends to the wind.  Some of this tossing even goes so far into a few years of marriage.  We toss our girlfriends aside, ignore text messages (although if it was a dirty one from the current male we’d respond), refuse to make plans that don’t include him, and then when we are in a fight with the boyfriends/significant other, or are single again…. we come back to our girlfriends.

I remember in my first marriage, I would sit there on the couch with my cell phone in my hands really wanting to call and get together with some of my friends.  But wouldn’t call because they were single and probably didn’t want to hang out with a ole’ married chick.  And they wouldn’t call me either, cause they were afraid of interrupting something going on.   When I became single, everyone wanted to hang out… but they had signicant others and the cycle was repeated.  Add in another marriage and a baby, and the cycles repeat.  Then repeat.  We have a serious issue of ditching our girls.  Why?

Really.  Women suck.

Give you an example….   Pretty much what has gotten me pissed off today.  It’s about 1:30 in the afternoon.  I texted a few of my girlfriends to see if I could talk at least one of them into going shoe shopping with me this afternoon.  I have to buy flats, yes… the dreaded F word, flats.  I could really use the second opinion and eyes of someone I trust.  (And my gay guy friends aren’t much help because they are more normal guys than your sterotypical gay guy, which is one of the reasons why I love them.)  Out of all of them…. an hour in a half later… not a single one of them has responded.  Now I know they all get texts and the chances of everyones phones not working at the same time is bullshit.  It’s plain and simple.  I don’t have a dick and they currently have one to keep them occupied and have no interest or care in their other friendships unless it will somehow directly involve their signicant other.

I am not saying that I am not guilty of this crime.  But at least I hope and think I’m honest about it.  For example “I can’t do Thursday night because I have MiniMe and the three of us do dinner.”  I try to remember to pick up the phone and call, or text, or at least send an email or a myspace message.  I think I’ve done pretty well at keeping in touch with people, probably not the best but I like to at least thing I don’t get “dick brain” too bad.

To quote Susan Jane Gilman, author of “Kiss My Tiara” (One of the best girl books ever written!) “Friends shouldn’t be treated at leftovers.  You know, taken out and heated up only when there’s nothing fresh around?”  “

True things change when we undergo life changes, and that’s expected.  But sheez… do you have to treat the sisters like leftovers?  This brings me to a new resolution this year… to really make an effort not to treat my girlfriends like leftovers.  I do have a significant other, and I don’t like leftovers, so I will make an effort to keep my friends from being treated like leftovers.

