For every sale you miss because you’re too enthusiastic, you will miss a hundred because you’re not enthusiastic enough. – Zig Zigler

I am a discouraged and depressed sales person. I have my moments of hating sales and loving sales. I have hit that point where it’s “make it or break for it”. There is not a day that goes by anymore that I don’t think about quiting and trying to find a job that will pay me the same damn thing every month. The financial are stressing. Some months are good, some months are bad, and having a “going in deal” go bad on me was just the first layer of icing on the cake.

I have NEVER gone this long in my career without a new business sale. NEVER. Sure I’ve brought in more money, from clients that already existed. Sure I’ve brought in more money, from clients that had already spent on the station in years past.

This morning I met with my boss. Now if I had a boss like ones I have had in the past, I would have already quit. My “new” boss seems to know her stuff. We’re starting back on my sales training again tomorrow, because we’re having trouble nailing down exactly what I’m doing wrong.

From what I can figure, the best thing I need to do is slow down the whole process. Quality not quantity. Also to some extent take to heart what management says, but it’s their job to push for more, it’s my job to deliver, at the same time tuning them out and keep on trucking. Delicate balance. Arrgh.

