I don’t get it….
I probably never will.
Why is it such a damn big deal that people have seen me on TV and hear me on the radio?

I go in to get my manicure and pedicure this afternoon. I’ve been in dire need all week, I’ve just not had the time. Well I just love the place that I go, they are fast, screw up the least of anyone I’ve ever been to, and they are friendly. The owners husband was there and she was telling him that I was the one who did TV and radio.

Now let me let you in on this… today I am wearing very, very, little makeup. My hair looks like I thought it would be a good idea to stick a fork in a electrical socket and hang on. And I’m wearing a little demin skort and t-shirt. It’s Sunday. I’m playing DJ later on. I look nothing like the finished product at 5:30am.

Well, dude looks at me for a minute and stares. Then you could see the light flick on. He recognized me. And he made mention of the fact that I wasn’t all done up and pretty. Well bless the owners heart, I just adore her, she spouts back at him that I’m deffinatly younger than anyone else on that station, or more than likely anyone else in Chattanooga for that matter. I had to laugh.

I tried not to let it annoy me. But it kinda did. I took it all as a compliment, but yet I don’t see why it’s such a big deal to some people. You can’t get on the air without an ego. You can’t get on the screen without an ego either. I love what I do, I have a great mix. I get to do my dj stuff, I get to be a geek, and on occassion I get to make people think I’m actually awake at 5:30am.

Yet somedays I just want to be left alone and be who I want, be with who I want, be myself and not what life dictates.

